For all enquiries, please email mail@fredriksonscholarship.org

The Kristian Fredrikson Scholarship For Design In The Performing Arts has been created as an on-going memorial to one of Australia’s most distinguished performing arts designers, the late Kristian Fredrikson, who died on 10 November 2005, after a 40 year career which encompassed ballet, opera, contemporary dance, theatre, exhibitions, film and television.

The scholarship, which was launched in 2008, will provide $12,000 biennially to assist an Australian designer or maker to study overseas, to further enhance their career. Successful applicants, who must have completed five professional productions or have demonstrated a proven record of professional activity over at least 3 years, will be chosen on the basis of a demonstrable history of outstanding achievements and commitment to their profession; originality, creativity, technical and interpretative skills and the viability of their study plan.

Founding Commitee

The Fredrikson Scholarship Founding Committee currently comprises:

Anna French: Designer
Frank Van Straten OAM: Writer, Curator, Theatre Historian
Richard Roberts: Designer
Susan Haworth: Costumier, Teacher
Emily Collett: Designer
Hugh Colman: Designer

The Kristian Fredrikson Scholarship For Design In The Performing Arts Scholarship Founding Committee (”The Kristian Fredrikson Scholarship Founding Committee”) will be responsible for:

  • Setting the criteria for awarding the scholarship;
  • Selecting an appropriate body to administer The Kristian Fredrikson Scholarship Fund;
  • Organising fundraising events and soliciting donations;
  • Launching the scholarship;
  • Solicit and receive applications and authorise payment of the award;
  • Select the members of an assessment panel who will choose the successful recipient.

Friends of the Kristian Fredrikson Scholarship

The Kristian Fredrikson Founding Committee gratefully acknowledges the support and assistance of the following individuals and organizations:

Margot Anderson Tristan Message Roland Rocchiccioli
William Akers AM Lynn Munro Sue Roth
Lee Christofis Graeme Murphy AO Christina Smith
Hugh Colman National Institute of Dramatic Art The Australian Ballet
Elizabeth Cross George Ogilvie AM Theo Strasser
Alison French Opera Australia Theatre Heritage Australia
Carrillo Gantner AO Charlotte De Pace Laura Tong
Richard Gill OAM Andrew Pfeiffer Helen Tripp
Anthony Knight OAM Ailsa Piper Karen Van Ulzen
David McAllister AM Fiona Reilly Victorian College of The Arts
Terry McKibbin Billy Roache Janet Vernon AM
Yvonne Gates Australian Production Designers Guild Jeremy Vincent