Announcing the 2018 Recipient of the Kristian Fredrikson Scholarship for Design in the Performing Arts

We are proud to announce that NIDA graduate and Associate Design Lecturer Michael Hankin (Design, 2009) is the 2018 recipient of The Kristian Fredrikson Scholarship For Design in The Performing Arts.

Michael graduated from NIDA with a Bachelor of Dramatic Art in 2009, and went on to design for a number of top theatres, including Belvoir St Theatre, Carriageworks, State Theatre of South Australia, Sydney Theatre Company, Melbourne Theatre Company, Bell Shakespeare, and Malthouse Theatre.

In addition to NIDA, Michael has also been Guest Lecturer in Design for Belvoir Street Theatre Education Department.

His Awards include: The Mike Walsh Fellowship, a NSW Artstart Grant, and the Winner of Best Stage Design at The Sydney Theatre Awards for Hir, Of Mice and Men and Truckstop, as well as several nominations. Michael is a member of The Australian Production Designer’s Guild and has received two nominations for Best Stage Design. This year his set design for Memorial, a production which is being co-produced between Adelaide and Brisbane Festivals will travel to The Barbican Centre in London.

The scholarship was created in honour of the brilliant designer Kristian Fredrikson, who died in 2005, and upholds the memory of his involvement in developing excellence in design for the performing arts. It will provide Michael with $12,000 to travel and study overseas to further his career.

Comments are closed.